The Zutons- Valerie

26 Jul

Over the weekend, the music world lost one of its most talented stars, Amy Winehouse. I remember when I heard “Rehab” thinking that if this girl caught on, she could be a mega-star. Well, she did catch on and become a star. When she took home all those Grammys, I hoped that would have been enough to try to send her down a better path.

One of her songs that caught my attention was used in the movie “27 Dresses” called “Valerie”. It originally appeared on Mark Ronson’s album but became a big hit for Amy as well. Glee did a cover of it as well. When I heard about Amy’s passing, I immediately wanted to listen to her sing this song. Why? It was one of the few times she sounded truly happy.

Today, I googled “Valerie” to see who did the original and was introduced to a band called the Zutons. The original version is more rock than Motown but still a fun listen. One thing I love about cover songs is the progression from the original to the cover, how the arrangement is worked out to make it “more their own” (as we hear religiously on American Idol). Give it a listen and let me know what you think!

One Response to “The Zutons- Valerie”

  1. emily July 26, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    you are so good šŸ™‚ i’m glad your doing this, keep it up šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

